www.Blackborder.com www.Blackborder.com www.Blackborder.com
www.Blackborder.com

Navigation

Small orders ship for just 60 cents!

RSS

Subscribe to Syndicate

Hot Products

Hot Buylist Offers

You are here

Obliterate Akroma

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 2 months ago
Joined: 06/04/2009 - 10:13
Obliterate Akroma

So Obliterate.....

Rarity Rare Color Red Casting Cost 6RR Type Sorcery Text Obliterate can't be countered. Destroy all artifacts, creatures, and lands. They can't be regenerated.

And Akroma Angel of Wrath has protection from RED.

Does Obliterate Destroy Akroma?

0
Anonymous

Absolutely, but it has nothing to do with the cannot be countered part of obliterate.  Protection from red grants 4 abilities.  Cannot be targeted by red spells or abilities. 2 - Prevent on damage from a red source. 3- Cannot be blocked by a red creature.  4- Cannot be enchanted by a red enchantment.  Obliterate does none of these things.  For Obliterate to target Akroma it has to say specifically target in the rules text of Obliterate, and it does not.

5
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 11 months ago
Joined: 11/13/2008 - 23:25

Absolutely, but it has nothing to do with the cannot be countered part of obliterate. Protection from red grants 4 abilities. 1- Cannot be targeted by red spells or abilities. 2- Prevent all damage from a red source. 3- Cannot be blocked by a red creature. 4- Cannot be enchanted by a red enchantment. Obliterate does none of these things. For Obliterate to target Akroma it has to say specifically target in the rules text of Obliterate, and it does not.

0
Noah Whinston's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 years 6 days ago
Moderator
Feature Writer
Bituminous Blast (Alara Reborn)Bloodbraid Elf (Alara Reborn)Lightning Bolt (Magic 2010 Core Set)Path to Exile (Conflux)
Joined: 08/20/2009 - 09:29

@gandalf: actually part #4 just falls under part #1, can't be targeted by a red spell or ability, and therefore can't be enchanted by a red enchantment. other than that, you got it exactly

5
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 9 months ago
Joined: 09/29/2009 - 10:54

Actually Gandalf is right, if you somehow manage to get a red enchantment on Akroma without playing it as an Enchanment-Aura spell (with Simic Guildmage, for example) the aura will fall-off due to protection. An Aura only targets when it's on the stack.

113.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura’s target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn’t target anything; only the spell is targeted.

5
All trademarks and copyrights are acknowledged and are the property of their respective owners. This website is not produced by Wizards of the Coast TM. As an Authorized Internet Retailer of Wizards of the Coast, adventuresON.com may only ship sealed Magic: the Gathering products within the United States. As an Authorized Internet Retailer of Wizards of the Coast, adventuresON.com cannot sell sealed Magic: the Gathering products business to business. Authorized Internet Retailer for Wizards of the Coast